Arduino Serial Port Issue


Hi!

While I was experimenting with Arduino and SparkFun’s MPU6050, I came across the usual problem of Serial port being grayed out in Arduino IDE. Earlier I always ignored the problem and restarting the system used to work for majority of the time. This time however, I was determined to find a solution. After experimenting a bit I realized that this command works the best:

sudo usermod -a -G tty yourUserName

Well this works for Linux / Ubuntu users. If you are a Windows user, you may help yourself by erasing Windows completely and installing Linux.

One comment

  1. It barely happens that you plug in your Arduino and the port no. pops up!
    I was lucky! 😉

Leave a Reply

